February 2023 saw the conclusion of the 12th edition of the Big Bash League (BBL), with the Perth Scorchers defeating Brisbane Heat in the final to clinch their second consecutive title and extend their record haul to five trophies overall. Now over a decade old, the BBL has proven to be a huge hit with cricket fans in Australia and overseas… so if you aren’t familiar with it yet, where have you been hiding yourself?

Of course, the competition is still relatively young in comparison with others around the globe, so there’s still plenty of time to get into it for newbies to the sport or the league. If that sounds familiar, here’s a basic breakdown of everything you need to know.

What is the BBL?

The BBL is Australia’s premier domestic T20 cricket competition. Launched in 2011, the league replaced the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash and features eight teams from across the country.

Who plays in the BBL?

The eight teams which play in the BBL are Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers, Sydney Thunder, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Adelaide Strikers and Hobart Hurricanes.

What’s the format of the BBL?

The regular league part of the BBL is comprised of 56 matches, during the course of which all eight teams will play each other twice – one at home and once away. The top two teams in the league will then play off in the Qualifier, with one advancing directly to the Final. Meanwhile, the fourth and fifth placed teams will compete in the Eliminator to decide who plays the third-placed team in the Knockout, the winner of which will then take on the loser of the Qualifier in the Challenger. The winners of the Challenger and the Qualifier meet in the Final to decide who is crowned champion that year.

When does the BBL take place?

The BBL is scheduled to take place during the summer months in Australia, which means it falls over December, January and February. However, those new to the sport who want to get involved in it straight away don’t have to wait until the end of 2023 to do so! That’s because BBL SRL cricket 2023 is happening right now, featuring a simulated reality league (SRL) that simulates games based upon real historical data. It’s ideal for those who like to bet on sporting outcomes but don’t want to wait until the return of the BBL in December.

How can I watch the BBL?

The most exciting way to experience the BBL is to go to a game live. Matches take place in cities across the country throughout the season, affording as many fans the opportunity to watch them as possible. Otherwise, Australian fans can tune in on Foxtel, Kayo Sports and Channel 7 (for select matches). Overseas enthusiasts can see how to watch the action here.

Who are the team to beat?

Having claimed their fifth title in February, Perth Scorchers remain the most successful team in the competition’s history. Sydney Sixers are their closest rival with three trophies, while Brisbane Heat, Adelaide Strikers, Melbourne Renegades and Sydney Thunder all have one win apiece. Melbourne Stars and Hobart Hurricanes are yet to lift the title.

Now that you have the basics of the BBL under your belt, you can enjoy it from December onwards – or even earlier via the SRL version of Australia’s premier cricketing competition.


ROCKSTAR Premium SkinPack for Windows 10
Gold Bali Kratom: Things To Know Before Using It

Related Posts

Leave A Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.